We recently ran across an article on virtue.com that valued Facebook fans at $3.60 each. What does that mean to the small business person? A lot! All of us have limited marketing budgets. We try to do what we can with every dollar we can. There are 400 million people on Facebook and that number is growing daily. In fact, while teens and Y generation were the first to become members, the fasting growing segment of Facebook are those over 35.
According the Virtue (who manages over 45 million fans for their clients), the impressions on a single wall post to fan ratio were approximately 1:1. Marketers value advertising by impressions. These impressions are practically free, similar to earned media. Value those impressions with a conservative $5 CPM (cost per thousand).
Using this formula, let’s say we work hard and develop a fan base of 10,000.
10,000 impressions x 1 post x 30 days = 300,000 impressions
300,000 impressions divided by 1000 x $5 CPM = $1,500
The article on Virtue continued pointing out that Facebook wall posts have further social engagement value with things like clicks, comments, likes, shares, etc. Wall Apps such as a coupon or a poll offer even greater levels of engagement. Brands engaging their Fans stand to earn much more value. dba Communications works to help smaller independent companies maximize their marketing dollars. Strategies such as this are just one ingredient in helping businesses reach their sales goals.